Network Organizations

The National Academy of Medicine’s (NAM’s) Action Collaborative on Decarbonizing the U.S. Health Sector (Climate Collaborative) is a public-private partnership of leaders from across the health sector committed to addressing the sector’s environmental impact and strengthening its sustainability and resilience. 

The Climate Collaborative is committed to galvanizing a movement within the health sector to mitigate and adapt to climate change, while centering and maximizing human health and equity. To extend the reach and impact of this work, we invite entities to join the movement and participate as Network Organizations.

Apply to be a Network Organization >>

What does it mean to be a Network Organization?

Network Organizations acknowledge the critical need for action to address climate change and protect human health, well-being, and equity. These organizations also agree to make a visible commitment outlining the institution’s current and/or future work in the priority areas of the Climate Collaborative. Network Organizations actively support and contribute to the work of the Climate Collaborative but are distinct from its member organizations, including its sponsors, steering committee, and working group members.

Network Organizations:

  • Are listed on the Climate Collaborative’s webpage, along with an organizational “commitment statement” describing their current and/or future work to address climate change, as well as a representative’s contact information
  • Receive regular updates on the work of the Climate Collaborative, including priority invitations to public meetings and advance notice of new resources and publications
  • Have opportunities to provide input on Climate Collaborative activities
  • Receive communications tools such as social media toolkits and infographics to disseminate to their own networks
  • Receive networking and information-sharing opportunities

It is expected that Network Organizations will:

  • Participate actively in the work of the Climate Collaborative (e.g., by attending meetings and responding to requests for information)
  • Share annual updates with the Climate Collaborative about the Network Organization’s climate change-related work
  • Provide feedback to enhance the effectiveness of the Climate Collaborative’s outputs, outreach strategies, and other activities
  • Share evidence-informed actions and strategies, as well as promising practices for health sector leadership in addressing climate change, to be considered for amplification across NAM networks
  • Share announcements about activities and products of the Climate Collaborative
  • Support the Climate Collaborative’s social media and public engagement campaigns

 

Criteria for Becoming a Network Organization

  • Participation is restricted to organizations (legal entities) only. Individuals or groups of individuals are not eligible to become a Network Organization. Note: This opportunity is open to private / for-profit, public (, and non-profit entities outside of the Climate Collaborative’s existing membership. Organizations located outside the U.S. are also eligible to apply to become a Network Organization.
  • Participation as a Network Organization is subject to approval of the organization’s application and submission of a commitment statement.

 

How to Become a Network Organization

Please complete this survey and submit an organizational commitment statement following the criteria and guidelines provided. Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis; a member of NAM’s staff will respond to your submission within 20 business days of receipt. 

Current Network Organizations

Advocate Aurora Health
Contact: Katie Wickman | katie.wickman@aah.org
Commitment Statement

Aledade
Contact: Wajiha Alikhan | wamenaalikhan@aledade.com
Commitment Statement

AllianceChicago
Contact: Warria Esmond | wesmond@alliancechicago.org
Commitment Statement

Ameresco, Inc.
Contact: Kathy Henderson | khenderson@ameresco.com
Commitment Statement

American Academy of Pediatrics
Commitment Statement

American College of Lifestyle Medicine
Contact: Neha Pathak | nehapathakmd@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Association for Prevention Teaching and Research
Contact: Allison Lewis | all@aptrweb.org
Commitment Statement

Association of Medical Device Reprocessors
Contact: Dan Vukelich | dvukelich@amdr.org
Commitment Statement

Atrium Health
Contact: David Callaway | David.Callaway@atriumhealth.org
Commitment Statement

Bernhard, LLC
Contact: Alyssa Jaksich | ajaksich@bernhard.com
Commitment Statement

Cairo Neuropsychiatric Clinic
Contact: Amro Soliman | dramrosoliman@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Carilion Clinic
Contact: Sara Wohlford | sewohlford@carilionclinic.org
Commitment Statement

The Center for Health Design
Contact: Mike LaMont | mikelamont12@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Cherokee Health Systems
Contact: Laura Porter | laura.porter@cherokeehealth.com
Commitment Statement

Children’s Environmental Health Network
Contact: Nsedu Obot Withersoon | nobotw@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Climate Health Now
Contact: Ashley McClure | ashennessy@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Climate Psychiatry Alliance
Contact: Robin Cooper | info@climatepsychiatry.org
Commitment Statement

Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health
Contact: Maria O’Brien | mag177@cumc.columbia.edu
Commitment Statement

Contra Costa Health Services (Contra Costa County)
Contact: Daniel Peddycord | daniel.peddycord@cchealth.org
Commitment Statement

Cook County Health
Contact: Shannon Andrews | shannon.andrews@cookcountyhealth.org
Commitment Statement

Council of Public Health Nursing Organizations
Contact: Lisa Campbell | chair@cphno.org
Commitment Statement

Deloitte
Contact: Jitinder Kohli | jkohli@deloitte.com
Commitment Statement

ecoAmerica
Contact: Meighen Speiser | meighen@ecoAmerica.org
Commitment Statement

FHI 360
Contact: Howell Wechsler | Hwechsler@fhi360.org
Commitment Statement

GW Climate and Health Institute
Contact: Kelly Whittier | kwhittier@gwu.edu
Commitment Statement

Henry Ford Health System
Contact: Chip Amoe | camoe1@hfhs.org
Commitment Statement

The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) Centre for Global Child Health
Contact: Michelle Gaffey | michelle.gaffey@sickkids.ca
Commitment Statement

IMEG Corp.
Contact: Mike Zorich | Michael.C.Zorich@imegcorp.com
Commitment Statement

Impact Youth Sustainability Jamaica Limited
Contact: Christopher Chinapoo | cchinapoo7@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Institute of Global Health and Development, Aga Khan University
Contact: Jai Das | jai.das@aku.edu
Commitment Statement

The Journal of Climate Change and Health
Contact: Marcalee Alexander | malexander@sustainourabilities.org
Commitment Statement

Kimball Sustainable Healthcare
Contact: Erika Kimball | erika@kimballshc.com
Commitment Statement

Korn Ferry
Contact: Victoria Baxter | victoria.baxter@kornferry.com
Commitment Statement

Mass General Brigham
Commitment Statement

Michigan Clinicians for Climate Action
Contact: Emily Buettner | Michc4ca@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Montana Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate
Contact: Robert Byron | rgbyron@gmail.com 
Commitment Statement

My Green Doctor
Contact: Todd Sack | mygreendr@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

NewGen Surgical Inc.
Contact: Ally Nguyen | marketing@newgensurgical.com
Commitment Statement

New Hampshire Healthcare Workers for Climate Action
Contact: Deborah Gerson | debgerson@nhclimatehealth.org
Commitment Statement

New Jersey Climate Change Resource Center at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Contact: Marjorie Kaplan | mbk65@envsci.rutgers.edu
Commitment Statement

New York State American Academy of Pediatrics District II
Contact: Colleen Fitzpatrick | CFitzpatrick3@Northwell.edu
Commitment Statement

NYU Langone Health
Contact: Paul Schwabacher | sustainability@nyulangone.org
Commitment Statement

Partnership for Sustainable Development Nepal
Contact: Bishnu Bhatta | psdnepal@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Presbyterian Healthcare Services
Contact: Sabrina Lord | GreenHealth@phs.org
Commitment Statement

Seattle Children’s
Contact: Samuel Williams | samuel.williams@seattlechildrens.org
Commitment Statement

Society of Behavioral Medicine
Contact: Lindsay Bullock | lbullock@sbm.org
Commitment Statement

Society of Public Health Education
Contact: Bishar Jenkins Jr. | bjenkins@sophe.org
Commitment Statement

SolaVida
Contact: Dan Quinlan | dan@solavida.org
Commitment Statement

Stanford Health Care
Contact: Terry Duffina | tduffina@stanfordhealthcare.org
Commitment Statement

Stryker
Contact: Erol Odabasi | erol.odabasi@stryker.com
Commitment Statement

Sustain Our Abilities
Contact: Marcalee Alexander | malexander@sustainourabilities.org
Commitment Statement

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Public Health
Contact: Paul Erwin | perwin@uab.edu
Commitment Statement

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Contact: Ian Hadden | HaddenIanT@uams.edu
Commitment Statement

University of California Health
Contact: Carrie Byington | carrie.byington@ucop.edu
Commitment Statement

University of Michigan Health System
Contact: T. Anthony Denton | tadpole@umich.edu
Commitment Statement

Virginia Clinicians for Climate Action
Contact: John Bagwell | john@virginiaclinicians.org
Commitment Statement

Wisconsin Health Professionals for Climate Action
Contact: Abby Novinska-Lois | wisconsinhpca@gmail.com
Commitment Statement

Climate change is increasingly affecting people’s health. Improving the carbon footprint of the entire health sector can drastically lower the approximately 8.5% of U.S. carbon emissions for which it is responsible, while also having significant health, social, and economic benefits.

The Climate Collaborative is led by a steering committee and four working groups representing health and hospital systems, clinicians, private payers, biopharmaceutical and medical device companies, health care services, health professional education, academia, nonprofits, and the federal government.

Network Organizations are supportive of the Climate Collaborative’s goals and objectives but are not official sponsors or members of the Climate Collaborative.

Join as a network organization today >>

Disclaimer: This page includes links to statements created by other public and/or private organizations. These statements are created by other public and/or private organizations, and are in no way connected to, under the control of, or associated with the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) or the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM). Inclusion of these statements does not imply or constitute an endorsement or promotion by NAM or NASEM of any persons or organizations. Neither NAM nor NASEM endorse these statements, and are not responsible in any way for any content, advertising, products, services, or information on or available from the organizations responsible for these statements. NAM and NASEM make no guarantees, and accept no liability, regarding the linked statements, including, but not limited to, their availability, accuracy, currency, content, quality, or lack of objectionable or offensive content.


Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates