Loading Events


The National Academy of Medicine held its annual meeting on Sunday and Monday, October 17-18, 2021. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and in an abundance of caution, the Annual Meeting was held entirely virtually.


Full agenda >>

Program Features (Monday, 10/18):

Keynote Address — 11:15 am – 11:45 am

Eric Lander, PhD

President’s Science Advisor and Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Panel 1: Disruption, construction, and learning from COVID-19 — 11:45 am – 1:00 pm

ModeratorCarl Zimmer

Columnist, New York Times


Akiko Iwasaki, PhD

Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology, and of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Professor of Epidemiology, and of Dermatology, Yale School of Medicine; and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Yvonne (Bonnie) Maldonado, MD

Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Diversity, Taube Endowed Professor of Global Health and Infectious Diseases, Professor of Pediatrics and of Epidemiology and Population Health and Chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Stanford University School of Medicine; and Medical Director, Infection Prevention and Control and Attending Physician, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital at Stanford

Saad B. Omer, MBBS, MPH, PhD, FIDSA

Director, Yale Institute for Global Health; Associate Dean (Global Health Research), Yale School of Medicine; Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Yale School of Medicine; Susan Dwight Bliss Professor of Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health

Matthew Wynia, MD, MPH, FACP

Director of the Center for Bioethics and Humanities, University of Colorado and Professor, University of Colorado School of Medicine and Colorado School of Public Health


Panel 2: Toward actionable policy in climate change and human health — 1:00 pm – 2:15 pm

Laura Helmuth, PhD

Editor-in-Chief, Scientific American


John Balbus, MD, MPH

Interim Director of the Office of Climate Change and Health Equity, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Michelle Bell, PhD

Mary E. Pinchot Professor of Environmental Health, Yale University School of the Environment

Michael Méndez, PhD

Assistant Professor of Environmental Planning and Policy at the University of California, Irvine

Marshall Shepherd, PhD

Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor and Director, Atmospheric Sciences Program, University of Georgia


Panel 3: Lessons from compounding health crises: The future is now — 2:30 pm – 3:45 pm

Alan Weil, JD, MPP

Editor-in-Chief, Health Affairs


Emily K. Brunson, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology, Texas State University

Ana V. Diez Roux, MD, PhD, MPH

Dana and David Dornsife Dean and Distinguished University Professor of Epidemiology, Drexel University School of Public Health

Edward Maibach, PhD

University Professor, George Mason University and Director, George Mason Center for Climate Change Communication

Secretary Umair A. Shah, MD, MPH

Washington State Secretary of Health

Special Remarks — 3:45 pm – 4:00 pm

Secretary Xavier Becerra

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

President’s Forum: The Role of the National Academy of Medicine and the Health Sector in Addressing the Climate Crisis —4:05 pm – 5:45 pm

Special Remarks: Gina McCarthy

National Climate Advisor


Victor Dzau, MD

President, National Academy of Medicine


Greg A. Adams

Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Hospitals

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP

President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement; and Former Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service

Howard Frumkin, MD, DrPH

Senior Vice President with the Trust for Public Land and Professor Emeritus, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, University of Washington School of Public Health

Rachel L. Levine, MD

Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD

President and CEO, Biotechnology Innovation Organization

Renee N. Salas, MD, MPH, MS

Yerby Fellow, Center for Climate, Health, and the Global Environment, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; Affiliated Faculty, Harvard Global Health Institute; and Department of Emergency Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Planning Committee

Sue Curry, PhD, Dean Emerita and Distinguished Professor of Health Management and Policy College of Public Health, University of Iowa
Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc, Chief Health Officer, Google
Paula T. Hammond, PhD, David H. Koch Chair Professor of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering
Peter J. Hotez, MD, PhD, Dean of the National School of Tropical Medicine and Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Virology & Microbiology at Baylor College of Medicine; co-director of the Texas Children’s Center for Vaccine Development and Texas Children’s Hospital Endowed Chair of Tropical Pediatrics
Ashish K. Jha, MD, MPH, Dean of the Brown University School of Public Health
Maureen Lichtveld, MD, MPH, Dean of the Graduate School of Public Health, University of Pittsburgh
Jonathan Patz, MD, MPH, Professor and John P. Holton Chair of Health and the Environment, Director of the Global Health Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Christine E. Seidman, MD, Director, Cardiovascular Genetics Center, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Thomas W. Smith Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Interest Group Meetings

Interest Groups allow NAM members from different disciplines to convene on pertinent and interdisciplinary subjects. During the NAM Annual Meeting, each Interest Group organizes and leads a panel of scholars to discuss current and global challenges affecting science, medicine, technology, and health. You can watch recordings of all of the interest group meetings here>>

Interest Group Session A: 11:15 am — 1:15 pm EDT

IG01 –  Health Policy and Health Care Systems (view transcript)
IG02 – Global Health, Infectious Diseases, Microbiology (view transcript)
IG03 – Neuroscience, Behavior, Brain Function & Disorders (view transcript)
IG10 – Biology of Aging/Geriatrics (view transcript)
IG12 – Nutrition, Diabetes, and Obesity (view transcript)
IG15 – Human Rights, Professional Ethics and the Values of Medicine (view transcript)

Interest Group Session B: 1:45 pm — 3:45 pm EDT

IG07 – Maternal & Child Health and Human Development (view transcript)
IG08 – Health of Populations/Health Disparities (view transcript)
IG09 – Education of the Health Care & Science Workforce (view transcript)
IG16 – Rehabilitation and Human Function (view transcript)
IG17 – Primary Care (view transcript)
IG18 – Health Technology (view transcript)
IG19 – Climate Change (view transcript)

Introductions and Awards

In addition to the scientific program, the 2021 NAM Annual Meeting welcomed the 2020 class of NAM members, as well as the 2021 class of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy FellowsNAM FellowsNAM Scholars in Diagnostic Excellence, Distinguished Nurse Scholar-in-ResidenceEmerging Leaders in Health and Medicine Scholars, and the 2021 International Health Policy Fellow and NAM-HKU Fellow in Global Health Leadership. The Annual Meeting also featured the presentation of the Gustav O. Lienhard Award for Advancement of Health Care, the Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health, the NAM Member Awards, and the NAM Cecil Awards.

Follow along on Twitter using #NAMmtg and @theNAMedicine


For questions about the 2021 NAM Annual Meeting, contact NAMedicine@nas.edu

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates