Distinguished Nurse Scholar-in-Residence Program

The Distinguished Nurse Scholar-in-Residence program provides a year-long residential health policy opportunity in Washington, DC, for outstanding nurse leaders. Each year, this immersion experience at the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) supports the engagement of the scholar in a prominent role in health policy development at the national level. As part of the program, the scholar is asked to produce a policy-oriented paper based on their area of special interest and/or become actively involved in a National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine study related to their area of expertise.

The program seeks individuals who have the capacity and skills to generate policy for issues of special interest and the ability to promote greater public understanding. Applicants with demonstrated success in promoting health equity are strongly encouraged to apply.

Initiated in 1992, the American Academy of Nursing (AAN), the American Nurses Association (ANA), and the American Nurses Foundation (ANF) support this program in partnership with the NAM.

Current Scholar

Cheryl Killion, PhD, RN, FAAN

Cheryl Killion, PhD, RN, FAAN

2022-2023 Distinguished Nurse Scholar-in-Residence

Cheryl Killion, PhD, RN, FAAN, is an associate professor in the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing at Case Western Reserve University. In a career spanning decades, she has integrated her role as clinician, nurse educator, and anthropologist to champion for social justice and equitable health care for all. She is a recognized leader in tackling health inequities domestically and nationally. Her focus has been on health disparities involving the disproportionality of low-income individuals, people of color, and marginalized populations who experience chronic conditions such as obesity, hypertension stroke, and poor maternal health outcomes.

View more

Dr. Killion has conducted WHO/Pan American Health Organization- and NIH-funded research in Belize, Haiti, and urban settings in the United States. Currently, her research centers on social determinants of health with specific focus on housing instability and health outcomes. She seeks to utilize her time at the NAM to further consider the intersection between housing instability and maternal morbidity and mortality in order to promote policies that will improve health equity.

Prior to becoming a faculty member at Case Western Reserve University, Dr. Killion was the Director of the Center for Family Health, and Director and Principal Investigator of the Hampton University Health Disparities Reduction Project, funded by the National Institute on Minority Health. Dr. Killion served as an appointed member of the Minority Health Advisory Committee of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is currently secretary of the National League for Nursing Board of Governors.

Dr. Killion received her PhD and MA in anthropology from the University of California, her MS in maternal child nursing from the University of Colorado, and her BS in nursing from Southern Illinois University. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

Past Scholars

Jessica Castner, PhD, RN-BC, FAEN, FAAN

Ashley Darcy-Mahoney, PhD, NNP, FAAN

Allison Squires, PhD, RN, FAAN

Lori Trego, PhD, CNM, FAAN

Tener Goodwin Veenema, PhD, MPH, MS, RN, FAAN

Suzanne Bakken, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI

Sally Cohen, PhD, RN, FAAN

Beatrice J. Kalisch, PhD, RN, FAAN

Marla E. Salmon, ScD, RN, FAAN

Pamela F. Cipriano, PhD, RN, FAAN

Julie A. Fairman, PhD, RN, FAAN

Mary E. Evans, RN, PhD, FAAN

Carolyn Williams, PhD, RN, FAAN

Ada Sue Hinshaw, PhD, RN, FAAN

Jacquelyn C. Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN

Veronica D. Feeg, PhD, RN, FAAN

Angela Barron McBride, PhD, RN, FAAN

Bonnie M. Jennings, DNSc, RN, FAAN

Virginia Tilden, PhD, RN, FAAN

Judith B. Krauss, MSN, RN, FAAN

Nancy E. Reame, PhD, RN, FAAN

Connie Curran, EdD, RN, FAAN

Program Administration

The NAM administers this program with support from AAN, ANA, and ANF.  Inquiries should be directed to:

Gregg S. Margolis, PhD
Health Policy Fellowships and Leadership Programs
National Academy of Medicine
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 334-1506
Email: gmargolis@nas.edu

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates