For media inquiries, contact Dana Korsen | | 202-334-2843

National Academy of Sciences Awards NAM member Frances H. Arnold 2017 Sackler Prize in Convergence Research

February 10, 2017

This year’s Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Covergence Research was awarded to NAM member Frances H. Arnold for her pioneering work on enzymes. Dr. Arnold, currently Dick and Barbara […]

NAM member Chad A. Mirkin receives annual Dickson Prize in Science from Carnegie Mellon University

February 8, 2017

Last week, Carnegie Mellon University awarded NAM member Chad A. Mirkin this year’s Dickson Prize in Science for his outstanding contributions to the field. Dr. Mirkin is a chemist and […]

NAM member Jennifer Doudna named 2017 Japan Prize Laureate for invention of CRISPR-Cas9

February 7, 2017

NAM member Jennifer Doudna has been awarded the 2017 Japan Prize for her invention of the CRISPRI-Cas9 technology. She shares the award with her co-inventor Professor Emmanuelle Charpentier. Doudna and Charpentier have […]

NASEM Publications Round-Up: January 2017

February 1, 2017

Browse all publications released in January 2017 below. To receive updates from the NAM, please subscribe to our mailing list. Reports document the evidence-based consensus of an authoring committee of […]

NAM Member Elaine Fuchs Wins 2017 McEwen Award for Innovation

January 26, 2017

NAM member Elaine Fuchs, Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor, Robin Chemers Neustein Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development, has been honored with the 2017 McEwen Award for Innovation. The prize, given by the […]

Announcing Placements of the 2016-2017 RWJF Health Policy Fellows

January 24, 2017

The national program office of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows at the NAM is pleased to announce the placements of the 2016-2017 fellows! Daryll C. Dykes, MD, […]

Human Trafficking is a Public Health Problem: Our Interview with NAM Fellow and Human Trafficking Expert Dr. Hanni Stoklosa

January 11, 2017

The National Academy of Medicine’s 2015-2017 American Board of Emergency Medicine fellow is Dr. Hanni Stoklosa. Dr. Stoklosa is an emergency medicine physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and an expert on […]

NAM Announces 2016 Council Election Results

December 19, 2016

The votes for the 2016 National Academy of Medicine (NAM) Council election have been tabulated, and the following individuals have been elected to serve three-year terms on the NAM Council […]

Thirteen NAM Members Elected to National Academy of Inventors

December 16, 2016

This week, the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) named 175 leaders of academic invention to NAI Fellow status. Thirteen National Academy of Medicine (NAM) members were among this list of […]

National Academy of Medicine Launches ‘Action Collaborative’ to Promote Clinician Well-Being and Combat Burnout, Depression, and Suicide Among Health Care Workers

December 15, 2016

In response to alarming evidence of high rates of depression and suicide among U.S. health care workers, the National Academy of Medicine is launching a wide-ranging “action collaborative” of multiple […]

Margaret Hamburg, NAM Foreign Secretary, Selected as AAAS President-Elect

December 15, 2016

Margaret Hamburg, the foreign secretary of the National Academy of Medicine, has been chosen to serve as president-elect of AAAS. She will begin her three-year term as an officer and […]

Winners of 2016 D.C. Public Health Case Challenge Announced at National Academy of Medicine Annual Meeting

October 17, 2016

The winners of the fourth annual D.C. Public Health Case Challenge were announced at this year’s National Academy of Medicine annual meeting.  The challenge aims to promote interdisciplinary, problem-based learning […]

Steven Hyman and Robin Murray Receive National Academy of Medicine’s Sarnat Award for Their Outstanding Achievements in Improving Mental Health

October 17, 2016

The National Academy of Medicine today awarded the 2016 Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health to two recipients: Steven Hyman, director of the Stanley Institute in Cambridge, […]

David Cella Receives Lienhard Award From National Academy of Medicine for His Pioneering Efforts to Measure Patient-Reported Outcomes

October 17, 2016

For his pioneering work to measure and apply patient-reported outcomes in health care, the National Academy of Medicine today awarded the Gustav O. Lienhard Award to David Cella, Ralph Seal […]

National Academy of Medicine Names Three NAM Fellows for 2016

October 17, 2016

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has selected three outstanding health professionals for the class of 2016 NAM Fellows.  The fellows were chosen based on their professional qualifications, reputations as […]

National Academy of Medicine Elects 80 New Members

October 17, 2016

The National Academy of Medicine announced today the election of 70 regular members and 10 international members during its annual meeting.  Election to the Academy is considered one of the […]

National Academy of Medicine Honors Members for Outstanding Service

October 17, 2016

[message_box title=”New! Read Our Interviews with the 2016 Member Awardees” color=”blue”] Lynn Goldman (Walsh McDermott Award) Donna Shalala (David Rall Award) Mary Woolley (Adam Yarmolinsky Award) [/message_box] Today at the […]

President Obama to Award NAM Member 2015 National Humanities Medal

September 15, 2016

On Thursday, September 22, 2016, President Obama will award National Academy of Medicine member Abraham Verghese (elected 2011) the National Humanities Medal. Verghese is one of 12 recipients this year. Verghese […]

Two NAM Members Receive Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award

September 15, 2016

NAM Members William G. Kaelin (elected 2007) and Gregg L. Semenza (elected 2012) have been announced as recipients of the 2016 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for illuminating how people respond to […]

National Academy of Medicine and FDA Select Four Individuals for 2016-2017 Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows

July 25, 2016

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) along with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Tobacco Products (CTP) have named the 2016-2017 class of FDA Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows. […]

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates