national medal SM2Read President Obama’s remarks at the awards ceremony >>

On December 22, 2015, the White House announced this year’s recipients of the National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation. These medals are the nation’s highest honors for achievement and leadership in advancing the fields of science and technology. Seven NAM members received their medals from President Barack Obama at the White House on May 19, 2016.

NAM National Medal recipients include the following:

National Medal of Science:

Albert Bandura, Stanford University
Stanley Falkow, Stanford University School of Medicine
Rakesh K. Jain, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital
Mary-Claire King, University of Washington

National Medal of Technology and Innovation:

Joseph DeSimone, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University, and Carbon3D
Mark Humayun, University of Southern California
Cato T. Laurencin, University of Connecticut 

Homepage photo credit: Sandy Schaeffer, National Science Foundation

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates