President Joseph Biden announced the members of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) on September 22, 2021, including four members of the National Academy of Medicine and 20 members of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and/or NAM.

The NAM members appointed to PCAST include:

  • Lisa A. Cooper
  • Susan Desmond-Hellmann
  • Paula Hammond (NAS/NAE/NAM)
  • Catherine Woteki


“We congratulate our members on being appointed by President Biden to PCAST,” said NAS President Marcia McNutt, NAE President John L. Anderson, and NAM President Victor J. Dzau in a joint statement.  “We are proud of their willingness to serve the nation in this capacity, and look forward to working with them as they advise the White House on how science, engineering, and medicine can inform solutions to the many challenges facing the United States and the world.”

PCAST is co-chaired by NAS/NAM member Eric Lander, NAS/NAE/NAM member Francis Arnold, and NAS member Maria Zuber.

Read more:

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates