Loading Events


The National Academy of Medicine, Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin, and Shatterproof are pleased to announce the organization of the Stigma of Addiction Summit: a half-day, virtual, action-oriented summit entirely dedicated to understanding, addressing, and eliminating the harmful impacts of stigma on people who use drugs. The goal of the Summit is to elevate current efforts at reducing stigma, identify successes and gaps in the evidence base, and prioritize and identify areas for future research and funding with an explicit focus on stigma, which is often touched upon only marginally in broader conversations about addiction. The Summit will be an active and forward-looking sharing of ideas and actions to advance how stigma is addressed and reduced as those with addiction seek and obtain treatment, and will be focused on reaching all stakeholders of the U.S. health ecosystem, including those in clinical service delivery, health system stakeholders, universities and academia, public health organizations, and professional member organizations.

An interprofessional and interdisciplinary planning committee of people in recovery, clinicians, health profession educators, addiction medicine professionals, government stakeholders and health professional organizations will identify the specific activities of the Summit, which may include individual presentations, panel discussions, group conversations with audience participation, a poster session, and/or networking opportunities. The Summit will be free to attend and the organizers are investigating the possibility of providing continuing education credits for attendees.


The Summit is tentatively scheduled for early May 2021 but the final date has not been set.


Please register with your name and email address and you will be notified when the date of the Summit has been officially announced.

Questions? Please email opioidcollaborative@nas.edu.


Planning Committee Members

  • Victoria Bosman, MS (she/her/hers), Policy Fellow, Pennsylvania Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs
  • Cheyenne Johnson, RN, MPH, CCRP, Interim Executive Director, BC Centre on Substance Use 

  • John F. Kelly, PhD, Elizabeth R. Spallin Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School, Director, MGH Recovery Research Institute

  • Mike Marshall, (he/him/his), Co-founder & Executive Director, Oregon Recovers

  • Elena Mendez-Escobar, PhD, Executive Director of Strategy, Boston Medical Center

  • Joy Rucker, Consultant, Founder, Texas Harm Reduction Alliance

  • Margot Savoy, MD, MPH, FAAFP, FABC, CPE, CMQ, FAAPL, Chair, Department of Family & Community Medicine, Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University & Temple University Health System, Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine and Center for Urban Bioethics, Chief Quality Officer, Temple Faculty Physicians, Inc., Program Director, Temple University Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program

  • Eri Solomon (they/them/theirs), Ambassador, Shatterproof 

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates