Gustav O. Lienhard Award Lecture

About this Event

Join the National Academy of Medicine on February 27, 2019 for the inaugural Gustav O. Lienhard Award Lecture, honoring 2018 recipient Stuart Altman.

Day/Time/Location: February 27, 2019, 4:30pm – 7:00pm – Historic National Academy of Sciences Building, 2101 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington DC

Dr. Altman, currently Sol C. Chaikin Professor of National Health Policy at Brandeis University, received the 2018 Lienhard Award in recognition of his pioneering role in national health policy and health services research. Dr. Altman’s lecture, on the topic of “Systemic and Health Consequences of the Payment Gap Between Medicare and Private Insurance,” will be followed by audience Q&A and a reception. The event is free and open to the public but will not be webcast. If you are interested in the Lecture, please register to attend in person by clicking here.

Please note that parking is extremely limited at the historic National Academy of Sciences Building. We advise that you travel to and from the lecture via taxi or car share, or via the Metro. The closest Metro station to the National Academy of Sciences Building is Foggy Bottom/GWU, which is serviced by the blue/orange/silver lines. The National Academy of Sciences building is approximately a 10-minute walk from the Metro station.


4:30pm      Registration

4:45pm      Opening Remarks

                    Victor J. Dzau, President, National Academy of Medicine

5:00pm      Systemic and Health Consequences of the Payment Gap Between Medicare and Private Insurance

                     Stuart Altman, Sol C. Chaikin Professor of National Health Policy, Brandeis University

5:40pm      Audience Q&A

6:00pm      Reception

7:00pm      Adjourn

The Gustav O. Lienhard Award, established in 1986, is presented annually by the National Academy of Medicine in honor of Gustav O. Lienhard, Chairman of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Board of Trustees from 1971 to 1986. The award — a medal and $40,000 — recognizes individuals for outstanding achievement in improving health care services in the United States. Support for the award is provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Questions? Please email Jenna Ogilvie at

Connect with Us

View More Events