Annual Meeting 2017-Scientific Program

About this Event

Developmental Neurosciences: Do We Know Enough to Prevent or Reverse Major Behavioral Disorders?

The NAM will host its 2017 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC on October 16, 2017. Registration will open in Summer 2017. Please join our mailing list to be notified when registration is open.

NAM Member? Click here for more information.

Program Features: October 16, 2017

Keynote: Cori Bargmann, Ph.D., The Rockefeller University, and Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Panel 1: Brain Plasticity and its Disorders: Autism Spectrum and Schizophrenias

Moderator: Joshua A. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., National Institutes of Mental Health
Basic science: Charles Nelson, Ph.D., Boston Children’s Hospital
Autism: Mattew State, M.D., Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Schizophrenias (dendritic pruning): Beth Stevens, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School
Schizophrenias (developmental perspective): 
Deanna Barch, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis

Panel 2: Vulnerability and Resilience: Anxiety Disorders and Bipolar Depression

Moderator: Huda Akil, Ph.D., University of Michigan
The experience of bipolar disorder: John Krystal, M.D., Yale University
The circuitry of fear and anxiety: Kafui Dzirasa, M.D., Ph.D., Duke University
Adolescent brain, development of self-control: Beatriz Luna, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
The genetics of bipolar disorder: Thomas Lehner, Ph.D., M.P.H., National Institutes of Mental Health

Panel 3: Decision-Making, Impulsivity, and Addiction

Moderator: Margaret Hamburg, M.D., National Academy of Medicine
The biology of addiction and reward circuitry: Nora Volkow, M.D., National Institute on Drug Abuse
How environmental and social experiences during childhood and adolescence influence brain and behavioral development, particularly with respect to decision-making and susceptibility to addiction: Valerie Reyna, Ph.D., Cornell University
The pharmacological and molecular mechanisms underlying narcotic tolerance and addiction, including pain and analgesic signaling: Howard Gutstein, M.D., University of Pittsburgh
Epidemiological overview of the U.S. opioid epidemic: Christopher Jones, Ph.D., Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation

President’s Forum: The U.S. Opioid Epidemic 

Victor J. Dzau, M.D., President, National Academy of Medicine
The Honorable Kathleen Sebelius, M.P.A., Co-Chair, Aspen Health Strategy Group and President and CEO, Sebelius Resources Inc.

Additional Speakers: TBD


In addition to the scientific program, NAM President Dr. Victor J. Dzau will welcome the newest class of NAM members and will present the 2016 winners of the Gustav O. Lienhard AwardBernard and Rhoda Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health, and the Member Awards.

Follow along on Twitter using #NAMmtg and @theNAMedicine

  • Planning Committee

    • Gilbert Omenn, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, University of Michigan
    • Nancy E. Adler, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
    • Huda Akil, Ph.D., University of Michigan
    • Thomas Boyce, M.D., University of California, San Francisco
    • Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D., The Rockefeller University
    • Steven E. Hyman, M.D., Harvard University


For questions about the 2017 NAM Annual Meeting, contact Donna Duncan, Deputy Director of Council and Membership Services, at

Connect with Us

View More Events