Committee Roster

Atul Butte, Co-Chair
Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg Distinguished Professor
Director of the Institute for Computational Health Sciences
University of California, San Francisco

R. Alta Charo, Co-Chair
Warren P. Knowles Professor of Law and Bioethics
University of Wisconsin, Madison

George Q. Daley, Co-Chair
Dean, Faculty of Medicine
Caroline Shields Walker Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Amy Abernethy
Principal Deputy Commissioner
Food and Drug Administration

Arturo Casadevall
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology and Infectious Diseases, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair of the W. Harry Feinstone Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

I. Glenn Cohen
Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
director, Harvard Law School’s Petrie-Flom Center for Health Law Policy, Biotechnology, and Bioethics

Juan Enriquez
Managing Director, Excel Venture Management

Tim Evans
Director and Associate Dean of the School of Population and Global Health, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

David Feinberg
VP Google Health, Google

Paul Ginsburg
Director, USC-Brookings Schaeffer Initiative for Health Policy
Leonard D. Schaeffer Chair in Health Policy Studies, The Brookings Institution
Vice-Chair of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC)

Scott Gottlieb
Resident Fellow at the American Enterprise Institute; former Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration 2017-2019

Jeffrey Kahn
Andreas C. Dracopoulos Director of the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
Inaugural Robert Henry Levi and Ryda Hecht Levi Professor of Bioethics and Public Policy
Professor in the Dept. of Health Policy and Management, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Richard D. Klausner
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Lyell Immunopharma, Inc

Bob Kocher
Partner, Venrock

Cara LaPointe
Interim Co-Director of the Institute for Assured Autonomy, The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Catherine Novelli
President, Listening for America

Timothy M. Persons
Chief Scientist and Managing Director Science, Technology Assessment, and Analytics, Government Accountability Office

Jay J. Schnitzer
Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, MITRE

John E. Smee
Vice President of Engineering, Qualcomm Technologies

Kaushik Sunder Rajan
Professor of Anthropology and Social Sciences, University of Chicago

Sohail Tavazoie
Head of Elizabeth and Vincent Meyer Laboratory of Systems Cancer Biology
Leon Hess Professor, Director of Black Family Center for Research on Human Cancer Metastasis
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Faculty Scholar, Rockefeller University

Keith A. Wailoo
Henry Putnam University Professor of History and Public Affairs, Princeton University

Elias Zerhouni
Professor Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University

Ex-Officio Members

Elliot Chaikof
Surgeon-in-Chief, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
(Co-Chair, NAM Interest Group on Health and Technology)

Lydia E. Kavraki
Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science, Professor of Bioengineering
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Rice University
(Co-Chair, NAM Interest Group on Health and Technology)

Academic Collaborators

Rachel Fabi
Assistant Professor of Bioethics and Humanities, SUNY Upstate Medical University

Debra Mathews
Assistant Director for Science Programs, Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Anaeze C. Offodile II
Assistant Professor, Department of Plastic Surgery, Division of Surgery; Executive Director, Clinical Transformation, Division of Office of the Chief Medical Executive, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Jacob S. Sherkow
Professor of Law, Innovation Center for Law and Technology, New York Law School

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates