The Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health – Past Recipients


Daniel Weinberger, M.D.

Director and CEO
Lieber Institute for Brain Development
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry, Neurology, Neuroscience, and Genetics
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

View the press release >>


Kenneth B. Wells, MD, MPH

Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine

View the press release >>


Joseph T. Coyle, MD

Eben S. Draper Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience
Harvard Medical School and McLean Hospital

View the press release >>


The team of Catherine Lord and Matthew State


Catherine Lord, PhD

Director, Center for Autism and the Developing Brain
Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Weill Cornell Medicine

Matthew State, MD, PhD

Oberndorf Family Distinguished Professor
Chair of Psychiatry
Member, Weill Institute for Neurosciences
University of California, San Francisco

View the press release >>


Steven E. Hyman, MD

Stanley Institute

View the press release >>


Robin Murray, FRS

Professor of Psychiatric Research
King’s College London

View the press release >>


Kay Redfield Jamison, PhD

Dalio Family Professor in Mood Disorders
Professor of Psychiatry, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Co-Director, Johns Hopkins Mood Disorders Center


Kenneth S. Kendler, MD

Rachel Brown Banks Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Virginia Institute for Psychiatric and Behavioral Genetics


View press release >>


Vikram Patel, FMedSci

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Public Health Foundation of India

View press release >>


William T. Carpenter, MD

Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology, University of Maryland School of Medicine
Maryland Psychiatric Research Center

View press release >>


Huda Akil, PhD

Stanley J. Watson, MD, PhD

Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience Institute, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor


William E. Bunney, MD

Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
University of California, Irvine, School of Medicine


Ellen Frank, PhD

Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine


Eric J. Nestler, MD, PhD

Nash Family Professor of Neuroscience and Chair, Department of Neuroscience
Director, Friedman Brain Institute
Mount Sinai School of Medicine


Charles P. O’Brien, MD, PhD

Kenneth Appel Professor
Vice Chair of Psychiatry, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine


David Mechanic, PhD

University Professor and René Dubos Professor of Behavioral Sciences
Director, Institute for Health, Health Care Policy, and Aging Research
Rutgers University


Paul R. McHugh, MD

University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Professor of Mental Health, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health


Beatrix Hamburg, MD

David Hamburg, MD

DeWitt Wallace Distinguished Scholars, Department of Psychiatry
Weill Cornell Medical College


Jack D. Barchas, MD

Chairman, Department of Psychiatry
Weill Cornell Medical College


Floyd E. Bloom, MD

Chairman, CEO, and Chief Scientific Officer
Neurome, Inc.


Albert J. Stunkard, MD

Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus
University of Pennsylvania


Aaron T. Beck, MD

University Professor of Psychiatry
University of Pennsylvania


David Satcher, MD, PhD

Director, National Center for Primary Care
Morehouse School of Medicine


Michael L. Rutter, MD

Professor of Developmental Psychopathology
MRC Social, Genetic & Developmental Psychiatry Centre
Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London


Solomon H. Snyder, MD

Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology, and Psychiatry, Department of Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


Rosalynn Carter

Vice Chair, Board of Trustees
The Carter Center


Nancy C. Andreasen, MD, PhD

Andrew H. Woods Chair of Psychiatry
Director, Mental Health Clinical Research Center
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics


David Kupfer, MD

Professor and Chairman, Department of Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Director of Research, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center


Herbert Pardes, MD

Vice President for Health Sciences, Columbia University
Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons


Leon Eisenberg, MD

Professor of Social Medicine, Department of Social Medicine
Harvard Medical School


Samuel B. Guze, MD

Spencer T. Olin Professor of Psychiatry
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
Psychiatrist-in-Chief, Barnes and Renard Hospital


Myrna Weissman, PhD

Professor of Epidemiology in Psychiatry
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons


Gerald Klerman, MD

Professor of Psychiatry and Associate Chairman for Research, Department of Psychiatry
Cornell University Medical College


Seymour S. Kety, MD

Senior Scientist, National Institutes of Mental Health
Professor of Neuroscience Emeritus, Harvard Medical School


Daniel X. Freedman, MD

Judson Braun Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology
Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Science
University of California, Los Angeles, School of Medicine

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates