The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Cecil Awards. The Cecil Awards recognize staff from throughout the National Academies who have manifested superb skill and commitment in furthering the mission of the NAM — to improve health for all by advancing science, accelerating health equity, and providing independent, authoritative, and trusted advice nationally and globally. No NAM award ranks above the Cecil in importance.

The following individuals have been selected for the 2020 Cecil Awards by a committee composed of NAM members and staff representatives from across the National Academies:

Sandra H. Matthews Cecil Award for Administrative Excellence
Annalee Espinosa Gonzales, Administrative Assistant, Health and Medicine Division

Cecil Award for Individual Excellence
Tracy Lustig, Senior Program Officer, Health and Medicine Division

Cecil Award for Excellence of a Group/Team
Emily Backes, Natacha Blain, Ivory Clarke, Mary Ghitelman, Samantha Phillips, Kirsten Sampson Snyder, Dara Shefska, Doug Sprunger, Elizabeth Townsend, Yvonne Wise Culture of Health: The Promise of Adolescence Team (Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education; Health and Medicine Division; National Academy of Medicine; Office of the Chief Communications Officer)

Each Cecil Award is accompanied by $4,000, a commemorative medal, and a certificate presented at the NAM Annual Meeting.

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates