The NAM honored members Alan Leshner, Jonathan M. Samet, and Susan C. Scrimshaw for their outstanding service at the NAM/IOM Anniversary Celebration Gala on October 18 in Washington, DC.

Leshner received the Walsh McDermott Medal, awarded to an NAM member for distinguished service over an extended period. His leadership for over 14 years across a multitude of demonstrates exceptional commitment to the Academies. His service, through leadership roles as an officer, councilor, committee chair, committee member, and board member, has significantly enhanced and furthered the mission of the NAM.

Samet received the David Rall Medal, which is given to an NAM member who has demonstrated distinguished leadership as chair of a study committee or other such activity, showing commitment above and beyond the usual responsibilities of the position. His long record of highly effective leadership dates back 30 years and spans 10 major committees.

Scrimshaw was presented with the Adam Yarmolinsky Medal, awarded to an NAM member from a discipline outside the health and medical sciences. Her service encompasses nearly 40 years of participation in panels, workshops, committees and boards. In all of these activities, she brings her outstanding skills as a social and public health scientist to address critical issues related to improving all aspects of health.


Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates