As part of the National Academy of Medicine’s Global Roadmap for Healthy Longevity, an International Commission that includes stakeholders and representatives from key participating institutions worldwide worked together to perform an assessment of the existing and projected risks, challenges, and opportunities presented by global aging.

This Commission recommended global priorities and actions to be addressed by 2030 to optimize the health, function, and well-being of all people into later life. The Commission is geographically/demographically diverse and consists of eminent individuals from both the public and private sectors with expertise in gerontology and geriatrics, demography, the social determinants of health, behavioral health, built environments, business and workforce, economics, health care delivery and financing, biomedical science and technology, and health and finance policy, among others.

Many of the Commissioners were “dual-hatted” as members of the “workstream teams” (or workshop planning committees). The Commission worked across the workstream teams to define the workshop tasks, agendas, and workshop speakers.


Members of the International Commission

Linda Fried, Co-Chair
Dean, Mailman School of Public Health
Columbia University
John Eu-Li Wong, Co-Chair
Isabel Chan Professor in Medical Sciences
Senior Vice President, Health Innovation and Translation
The National University of Singapore
Isabella Aboderin
Professor of Gerontology and Perivoli Chair in 
Africa Research and Partnerships
University of Bristol
Ann Aerts
Novartis Foundation
John Beard
ARC Centre for Excellence in Population Ageing Research
University of New South Wales
Lisa Berkman
Director, Harvard Center for Population and Development Studies
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Laura Carstensen
Director, Stanford Center on Longevity
Stanford University
Michele J. Grimm
Wielenga Creative Engineering Endowed Professor
Michigan State University
Paul Irving
Milken Institute Center for the Future of Aging
Mehmood Khan
Chief Executive Officer
Life Biosciences
Mosa Moshabela
Dean and Head
School of Nursing and Public Health
University of KwaZulu-Natal
Hiroki Nakatani
Keio University
John Piggott
Scientia Professor, Director
ARC Centre of Excellence in Population, Ageing Research (CEPAR)
Director, Australian Institute for Population Ageing Research (AIPAR)
School of Economics, University of London
Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia
University of Sydney
Jennie Popay (Active through July 2021)
Professor of Sociology and Public Health
Lancaster University
John (Jack) W. Rowe
Professor, Mailman School of Public Health
Department of Health Policy and Management
Columbia University
Andrew J. Scott
Professor of Economics
London Business School
Co-Founder, The Longevity Forum
Jeanette Vega
Chief Medical and Innovation Officer
Red de Salud UC-Christus
Eric Verdin
President and CEO
Buck Institute for Research on Aging
Yaohui Zhao
Professor of Economics
China Center for Economic Research of Peking University

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates