NAM President Victor J. Dzau and Home Secretary Elena Fuentes-Afflick have announced that the following individuals have been elected by the NAM membership to serve 3-year terms on the Academy’s Governing Council, effective July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2024:

  • Jeffrey R. Balser, President & CEO, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Dean, School of Medicine, Vanderbilt University
  • Claire Brindis, Distinguished Emerita Professor of Health Policy (on Recall); Emerita Director, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies; Co-Director, Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, University of California, San Francisco
  • Eve J. Higginbotham, Vice Dean, Inclusion and Diversity; Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics; Professor of Ophthalmology, Scheie Eye Institute, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
  • Linda A. McCauley, Dean, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, Emory University
  • Huda Y. Zoghbi, Professor, Molecular and Human Genetics, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Baylor College of Medicine

The complete 2021-2022 NAM Council roster is now available. For questions, contact

Claire BrindisEve J. Higginbotham, SM, MD, MLLinda McCauley | Emory University | Atlanta, GAZoghbi






Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates