Adam Yarmolinsky Medal

The Adam Yarmolinsky Medal is awarded to a member of the National Academy of Medicine from a discipline outside the health and medical sciences — for example, from fields such as the social and behavioral sciences, law, public policy, and administration. Eligible nominees do not include those who have a health professional degree , regardless of their scientific field or scholarly contributions. It recognizes distinguished service by a member who, over a significant period of time, has contributed in multiple ways to the mission of the NAM. Eligible nominees may not have a health professional degree, regardless of their scientific field or scholarly contributions.  The Adam Yarmolinsky Medal was not conferred in 2010, 2011, 2014, and 2021.

2023 Recipient

Kenneth E. Olden
Director Emeritus
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

View the press release >>


For more information contact Donna Duncan at


Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates