National Academy of Medicine

Adam Yarmolinsky Medal


The Adam Yarmolinsky Medal is awarded to a member of the National Academy of Medicine from a discipline outside the health and medical sciences — for example, from fields such as the social and behavioral sciences, law, public policy, and administration. It recognizes distinguished service by a member who, over a significant period of time, has contributed in multiple ways to the mission of the NAM.

The Adam Yarmolinsky Medal was not conferred in 2010, 2011 and 2014.

2018 Recipient

Nicholas A. Peppas, Sc.D.
Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering
Professor of Chemical Engineering
McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin

View the press release >>

  • Past Recipients

    Ruth R. Faden, Ph.D., M.P.H.
    Philip Franklin Wagley Professor of Biomedical Ethics
    Berman Center for Bioethics
    Johns Hopkins University

    Read an interview with Ruth Faden >>

    Mary Woolley, M.A
    President and CEO

    Read an interview with Mary Woolley >>

    Susan Scrimshaw
    The Sage Colleges


For more information, contact Donna Duncan, Membership Officer, at