

NAM Member Awards Recipients (2000-2016)

Walsh McDermott Medal



2016 - Lynn R. Goldman, M.D., M.S., M.P.H., Dean, Milken Institute, School of Public Health and Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health, The George Washington University

Alan I. Leshner, Ph.D., CEO Emeritus, American Association for the Advancement of Science

2015 - Alan I. Leshner, Ph.D., CEO Emeritus, American Association for the Advancement of Science

2014 – Dan G. Blazer, M.D., Ph.D., J.P. Gibbons Professor of Psychiatry at Duke University Medical Center

2013 - Donald M. Berwick, M.D., Former President and CEO, Institute for Healthcare Improvement; and Former Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

2012 - Haile T. Debas, M.D. Director, UC Global Health Institute; Senior Global Health Advisor, UC San Francisco; Founding Exec. Director, Global Health Sciences; and Former Chancellor and Dean Emeritus University of California, San Francisco

2011 - Robert B. Wallace, M.D., Irene Ensminger Stecher Professor of Epidemiology and Internal Medicine, Department of Epidemiology, College of Public Health, The University of Iowa

2010 - David R. Challoner, M.D., Vice President for Health Affairs, Emeritus University of Florida

2009 - Don E. Detmer, M.D., Professor Emeritus and Professor of Medical Education, Department of Public Health Sciences at the University of Virginia School of Medicine

2008 - Gilbert S. Omenn, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Medicine, Genetics and Public Health Center for Computational Medicine and Biology, University of Michigan Medical School

2007 - Jack D. Barchas, M.D., Barklie McKee Henry Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Weill Medical College of Cornell University and Psychiatrist-in-Chief, Weill Cornell Medical Center

2006 - Elena O. Nightingale, M.D., Ph.D., Scholar-in-Residence, Institute of Medicine

2005 - Ada Sue Hinshaw, Ph.D., R.N., Dean, School of Nursing, University of Michigan

2004 - Floyd E. Bloom, M.D., Chairman of the Department of Neuropharmacology, Scripps Research Institute

2003 - Leon Eisenberg, M.D., Professor of Social Medicine Emeritus, Harvard Medical School

2002 - Enriqueta C. Bond, Ph.D., President, Burroughs Wellcome Fund

2001 - Julius B. Richmond, M.D., John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy Emeritus, Harvard University

2000 - Mary Ellen Avery, M.D., Thomas Morgan Rotch Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, Emerita, Harvard Medical School and Physician-in-Chief, Emeritus, Children's Hospital in Boston

Adam Yarmolinsky Medal



David Rall Medal



- 2016 Mary Woolley, President and CEO, Research! America
- 2015 Susan C. Scrimshaw, Ph.D., President, The Sage Colleges
- **2013 R. Alta Charo, J.D.,** Warren P. Knowles Professor of Law & Bioethics, School of Law and Department of Medical History and Bioethics, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Wisconsin-Madison
- 2012 Gail L. Warden, President Emeritus, Henry Ford Health System
- **2009 Joseph P. Newhouse, Ph.D.,** John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management at Harvard University
- **2008 David Mechanic, Ph.D.,** Director, Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick
- 2007 Karen Davis, Ph.D., President, The Commonwealth Fund
- **2006 Lawrence O. Gostin, J.D.,** Associate Dean for Research and Academic Programs; Professor of Law at Georgetown University; Professor of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University; and Director of the Center on Law and the Public's Health, Georgetown University Law Center.
- **2005 Henry W. Riecken, Ph.D.,** Professor of Behavioral Sciences Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania
- **2004 Lawrence S. Lewin, M.B.A,** founder of Lewin and Associates, Inc. [now The Lewin Group], and Executive Consultant in the Washington metropolitan area
- 2003 Paul G. Rogers, J.D., Partner, Hogan & Hartson
- **2002 Richard J. Bonnie, J.D.**, John S. Battle Professor of Law, and Director of the Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy, University of Virginia, Charlottesville
- **2001 Walter J. McNerney, M.H.A**., Herman Smith Professor Emeritus of Health Policy, Kellogg Graduate School of Medicine, Northwestern University
- **2000 Rashi Fein, Ph.D., LL.D.** (honorary), Professor of the Economics of Medicine, Emeritus, Harvard Medical School
- **2016 Donna E. Shalala,** President, The Clinton Foundation
- **2015 Jonathan M. Samet, M.D., M.S.,** Distinguished Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine, Keck School of Medicine of USC; and Director, USC Institute for Global Health, University of Southern California
- **2014- Richard B. Johnston, Jr., M.D**., Associate Dean for Research Development and Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.
- **2013 Ellen Wright Clayton, J.D., M.D.,** Craig Weaver Professor of Pediatrics Professor of Law, Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society, Vanderbilt University
- **2012 Linda Rosenstock, M.D., M.P.H.,** Professor of Medicine, Health Policy & Management and Environmental Health Sciences; and Dean Emeritus, UCLA School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles
- **2011- Virginia A. Stallings, M.D.**, Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
- **2010 Nancy E. Adler, Ph.D.,** Professor of Medical Psychology, Departments of Psychiatry and Pediatrics and Director, Center for Health and Community, University of California, San Francisco
- **2009- Bernard Guyer, M.D., M.P.H.,** Zanvyl Kreiger Professor of Children's Health in the Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
- **2008 Ms. Sheila P. Burke,** Faculty Research Fellow, Malcolm Weiner Center for Social Policy, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

- **2007 William C. Richardson, Ph.D.,** President Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University and W.K. Kellogg Foundation
- **2006 Fitzhugh Mullan, M.D.,** Murdock Head Professor of Medicine and Health Policy, Department of Health Policy, The George Washington University
- 2005 Torsten N. Wiesel, M.D., President Emeritus, The Rockefeller University
- **2004 Marie C. McCormick, M.D., Sc.D.,** Summer and Esther Feldberg Professor of Maternal and Child Health, Harvard School of Public Health
- **2003 Daniel D. Federman, M.D.,** Senior Dean for Alumni Relations and Clinical Teaching, Harvard Medical School
- **2002 Joshua Lederberg, Ph.D.,** Sackler Foundation Scholar, The Rockefeller University
- **2001 Dorothy P. Rice, Sc.D. (Hon),** Professor Emeritus, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, with joint appointments at the Institute for Health & Aging, University of California, San Francisco
- **2000 Stuart Bondurant, M.D.,** Professor of Medicine and Dean Emeritus, School of Medicine, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill