Climate & Health Initiative Planning Committee


Members of the NAM planning committee were convened in 2020 to guide and inform the development of the strategic framework for the Grand Challenge on Climate Change, Human Health, and Equity. 


  • Philip A. Pizzo, MD, Co-Chair | Stanford University
  • Judith Rodin, PhD, Co-Chair | University of Pennsylvania
  • John M. Balbus, MD, MPH | National Institutes of Health
  • Anthony Capon, MBBS, PhD | Monash University
  • Peter Daszak, PhD | EcoHealth Alliance
  • Kristie Ebi, PhD, MPH, MS | University of Washington
  • Stefanie Fairholme | The Rockefeller Foundation
  • Jeremy Farrar, MBBS, DPhil | Wellcome Trust
  • Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH | Columbia University
  • Lynn R. Goldman, MD, MS, MPH | The George Washington University
  • Michael Greenstone, Ph | University of Chicago
  • Charles R. Halpern, JD | Nathan Cummings Foundation (former)
  • Prof Sir Andrew Haines, MD, MBBS | London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Margaret A. Hamburg, MD | National Academy of Medicine
  • Richard J. Jackson, MD, MPH | University of California, Los Angeles
  • Clarion E. Johnson, MD | Private Consultant and Physician, and ExxonMobil
  • Ann E. Kurth, PhD, CNM, MPH, FAAN | Yale University
  • Robin Leichenko, PhD | Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Gabriel M. Leung, MD, MPH | The University of Hong Kong
  • Maureen Lichtveld, MD, MPH | Tulane University
  • Mario J. Molina, PhD | University of California, San Diego
  • Louis J. Muglia, MD, PhD | Burroughs Wellcome Fund
  • María P. Neira, MD, MPH | World Health Organization
  • Anthony Nyong, PhD | African Development Bank Group
  • Jonathan A. Patz, MD, MPH | University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Barbara Picower, MA | The JPB Foundation
  • Alonzo Plough, PhD, MPH | Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Andrew C. Revkin, MA | Columbia University
  • Renee N. Salas, MD, MPH, MS | Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School
  • Juli Trtanj, MSc | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Michael J. Welsh, MD | University of Iowa
  • Catherine E. Woteki, PhD, RD | Iowa State University

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates