National Academy of Medicine


For more information, contact Jennifer Walsh | | 202-334-2183

Found 66 Results Page 2 of 7

National Academy of Sciences Awards NAM member Frances H. Arnold 2017 Sackler Prize in Convergence Research

This year’s Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Covergence Research was awarded to NAM member Frances H. Arnold for her pioneering work on enzymes. Dr. Arnold, currently Dick and Barbara Dickinson Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering, and B ...

February 10, 2017

NAM member Chad A. Mirkin receives annual Dickson Prize in Science from Carnegie Mellon University

Last week, Carnegie Mellon University awarded NAM member Chad A. Mirkin this year’s Dickson Prize in Science for his outstanding contributions to the field. Dr. Mirkin is a chemist and a world-renowned nanoscience expert. He is best-known for his develop ...

February 08, 2017

NAM member Jennifer Doudna named 2017 Japan Prize Laureate for invention of CRISPR-Cas9

NAM member Jennifer Doudna has been awarded the 2017 Japan Prize for her invention of the CRISPRI-Cas9 technology. She shares the award with her co-inventor Professor Emmanuelle Charpentier. Doudna and Charpentier have shared numerous awards for their work wit ...

February 07, 2017

NASEM Publications Round-Up: January 2017

Browse all publications released in January 2017 below. To receive updates from the NAM, please subscribe to our mailing list. Reports document the evidence-based consensus of an authoring committee of experts. Proceedings chronicle the presentations and discu ...

February 01, 2017

NAM Member Elaine Fuchs Wins 2017 McEwen Award for Innovation

NAM member Elaine Fuchs, Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor, Robin Chemers Neustein Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development, has been honored with the 2017 McEwen Award for Innovation. The prize, given by the International Society for Stem Cell Resea ...

January 26, 2017

Announcing Placements of the 2016-2017 RWJF Health Policy Fellows

The national program office of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows at the NAM is pleased to announce the placements of the 2016-2017 fellows! Daryll C. Dykes, MD, JD, PhD House Committee on Energy and Commerce (Majority)  Elena B. Elkin, P ...

January 24, 2017

Human Trafficking is a Public Health Problem: Our Interview with NAM Fellow and Human Trafficking Expert Dr. Hanni Stoklosa

The National Academy of Medicine’s 2015-2017 American Board of Emergency Medicine fellow is Dr. Hanni Stoklosa. Dr. Stoklosa is an emergency medicine physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and an expert on human trafficking. She co-founded HEAL Trafficking  ...

January 11, 2017

NAM Announces 2016 Council Election Results

The votes for the 2016 National Academy of Medicine (NAM) Council election have been tabulated, and the following individuals have been elected to serve three-year terms on the NAM Council effective July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2020. Alta Charo, J.D. Angela ...

December 19, 2016

Thirteen NAM Members Elected to National Academy of Inventors

This week, the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) named 175 leaders of academic invention to NAI Fellow status. Thirteen National Academy of Medicine (NAM) members were among this list of distinguished innovators. Election to the NAI Fellows program is one of ...

December 16, 2016

National Academy of Medicine Launches ‘Action Collaborative’ to Promote Clinician Well-Being and Combat Burnout, Depression, and Suicide Among Health Care Workers

In response to alarming evidence of high rates of depression and suicide among U.S. health care workers, the National Academy of Medicine is launching a wide-ranging “action collaborative” of multiple organizations to promote clinician well-being and resilienc ...

December 15, 2016

Page 2 of 7