The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Cecil Awards. The Cecil Awards recognize staff from throughout the National Academies who have demonstrated superb skill and commitment in furthering the mission of the NAM: to improve health for all by advancing science, accelerating health equity, and providing independent, authoritative, and trusted advice nationally and globally. No NAM award ranks above the Cecil in importance.

The following individuals have been selected for the 2021 Cecil Awards by a committee composed of NAM members and staff representatives from across the National Academies:

Sandra H. Matthews Cecil Award for Administrative Excellence

Stacey Smit, Program Coordinator, Division of Behavioral and Social Science and Education

Cecil Award for Individual Excellence

Katie Bowman, Senior Program Officer, Health and Medicine Division

Cecil Award for Excellence of a Group/Team

Lisa Brown, Ben Kahn, Rebecca Chevat, Emma Fine, Aurelia Attal-Juncqua, Andy Pope, Rose Marie Martinez, Elizabeth Finkelman, and Laura DeStefano, the Health and Medicine Division and National Academy of Medicine study team for Framework for Equitable Allocation of COVID-19 Vaccine

This year, the NAM is also conferring a Special Cecil Award to Clyde Behney
for 40 years of unparalleled service leading and shaping the nation’s ability to receive expert and unbiased advice on scientific and technical matters of particular priority and potential in advancing the human condition upon his retirement as Executive Director of the Health and Medicine Division.

Each Cecil Award is accompanied by $4,000, a commemorative medal, and a certificate presented at the NAM Annual Meeting.

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates