Loading Events


The National Academy of Medicine will hold its annual meeting on Sunday and Monday, October 17-18, 2021. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and in an abundance of caution, the Annual Meeting will be held entirely virtually.

In order to help support this event, the symposium will cost $50 to attend live on October 17 and 18. Registration will include the Interest Group meetings on October 17th, the presentation of all 2021 NAM awards on October 17th, and the scientific symposium on October 18th. 

Recordings of the public events will be released for free in the weeks after the event has concluded.


Register to attend>>


Program Features:

Keynote Address

Eric Lander, PhD

President’s Science Advisor and Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Panel 1: COVID-19: From crisis to stability in research & policy


Moderator: Carl Zimmer

Columnist, New York Times


Akiko Iwasaki, PhD

Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology, and of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Professor of Epidemiology, and of Dermatology, Yale School of Medicine; and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Yvonne (Bonnie) Maldonado, MD

Professor and Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Pediatrics at Stanford University School of Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Diversity at the Stanford School of Medicine

Saad B. Omer, MBBS, MPH, PhD, FIDSA

Director, Yale Institute for Global Health; Associate Dean (Global Health Research), Yale School of Medicine; Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Yale School of Medicine; Susan Dwight Bliss Professor of Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health

Matthew Wynia, MD, MPH, FACP

Director of the Center for Bioethics and Humanities, University of Colorado and Professor, University of Colorado School of Medicine and Colorado School of Public Health


Panel 2: Toward actionable policy in climate change and human health


: Laura Helmuth

Editor-in-Chief, Scientific American


John Balbus, MD, MPH

Interim Director of the Office of Climate Change and Health Equity, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Department of Health and Human Services

Michelle Bell, PhD

Mary E. Pinchot Professor of Environmental Health, Yale University School of the Environment

Michael Méndez, PhD

Assistant Professor of Environmental Planning and Policy at the University of California, Irvine

Marshall Shepherd, PhD

Distinguished Professor of Geography and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Georgia


Panel 3: Lessons from compounding health crises: The future is now


: Chris Mooney

Journalist, The Washington Post


Emily K. Brunson, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology, Texas State University

Ana V. Diez Roux, MD, PhD, MPH

Dana and David Dornsife Dean and Distinguished University Professor of Epidemiology, Drexel University School of Public Health

Edward Maibach, PhD

University Professor, George Mason University and Director, George Mason Center for Climate Change Communication

Secretary Umair A. Shah, MD, MPH

Washington State Secretary of Health and former Executive Director and Local Health Authority for Harris County Public Health


President’s Forum:


Welcoming Remarks: Gina McCarthy

National Climate Advisor


Victor Dzau, MD

President, National Academy of Medicine



Donald M. Berwick, MD

President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement; and Former Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service

Greg A. Adams

Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Permanente


Additional panelists forthcoming

Planning Committee

Sue Curry, PhD, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Health Management and Policy and former Dean of the University of Iowa College of Public Health
Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc, Chief Health Officer, Google
Paula T. Hammond, PhD, David H. Koch Chair Professor of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering
Peter J. Hotez, MD, PhD, Dean of the National School of Tropical Medicine and Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Virology & Microbiology at Baylor College of Medicine; co-director of the Texas Children’s Center for Vaccine Development and Texas Children’s Hospital Endowed Chair of Tropical Pediatrics
Ashish K. Jha, MD, MPH, Dean of the Brown University School of Public Health
Maureen Lichtveld, MD, MPH, Dean of the Graduate School of Public Health, University of Pittsburgh
Jonathan Patz, MD, MPH, Professor and John P. Holton Chair of Health and the Environment, Director of the Global Health Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Christine E. Seidman, MD, Director, Cardiovascular Genetics Center, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Thomas W. Smith Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Interest Group Meetings

Interest Groups allow NAM members from different disciplines to convene on pertinent and interdisciplinary subjects. During the NAM Annual Meeting, each Interest Group organizes and leads a panel of scholars to discuss current and global challenges affecting science, medicine, technology, and health.

We are pleased to welcome members of the public to attend the NAM Interest Group meetings as part of meeting registration. Registrants should identify a specific Interest Group meeting they would like to attend – however, access to all sessions will be provided to all registrants. Recordings of the Interest Group meetings will be released for free after the events have concluded.

Interest Group Session A: 11:15 am — 1:15 pm EDT

IG01 –  Health Policy and Health Care Systems
IG02 – Global Health, Infectious Diseases, Microbiology
IG03 – Neuroscience, Behavior, Brain Function & Disorders
IG10 – Biology of Aging/Geriatrics
IG12 – Nutrition, Diabetes, and Obesity
IG13 – Cancer, Stem Cell Biology & Transplantation
IG15 – Human Rights, Professional Ethics and the Values of Medicine

Interest Group Session B: 1:45 pm — 3:45 pm EDT

IG 07 – Maternal & Child Health and Human Development
IG 08 – Health of Populations/Health Disparities
IG 09 – Education of the Health Care & Science Workforce
IG 16 – Rehabilitation and Human Function
IG 17 – Primary Care
IG 18 – Health Technology
IG 19 – Climate Change

Introductions and Awards

In addition to the scientific program, the 2021 NAM Annual Meeting will welcome the 2020 class of NAM members, the 2021 class of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows, the 2021 class of NAM Fellows, and the 2021 class of NAM Emerging Leaders in Health and Medicine Scholars. The 2021 NAM Annual Meeting will also feature the presentation of the Gustav O. Lienhard Award for Advancement of Health Care, the Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health, the NAM Member Awards, and the NAM Cecil Awards.


Follow along on Twitter using #NAMmtg and @theNAMedicine



For questions about the 2021 NAM Annual Meeting, contact NAMedicine@nas.edu

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates