National Academy of Medicine

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 NAM Cecil Awards!

October 12, 2018

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Cecil Awards. The Cecil Awards recognize staff from throughout the National Academies who have manifested superb skill and commitment in furthering the mission of the NAM — to improve health for all by advancing science, accelerating health equity, and providing independent, authoritative, and trusted advice nationally and globally. No NAM award ranks above the Cecil in importance.

The following individuals have been selected for the 2018 Cecil Awards by a committee composed of NAM members and staff representatives from across the National Academies:

  • ​Morgan Kanarek, Chief of Staff, National Academy of Medicine
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil Award for Administrative Excellence
  • Amy Geller, Senior Program Officer, Health and Medicine Division
    Cecil Award for Individual Excellence
  • Elle Alexander, Heather Cook, Cypress Lynx, Amanda Nguyen, and Leslie Sim (Roundtable on Obesity Solutions Team, Health and Medicine Division)
    Cecil Award for Excellence of a Group/Team


Each Cecil Award is accompanied by $4,000, a commemorative medal, and a certificate presented at the NAM Annual Meeting. The awards ceremony will be help on October 15 beginning at approximately 9:00 am in the Fred Kavli Auditorium of the NAS Building.


Inquiries should be directed to:  Donna Duncan