Annual Meeting 2016 Public Agenda

Monday, October 17, 2016

6:45 a.m.-8:00 a.m.        Breakfast (Tent)    

8:00 a.m.-8:40 a.m.       President’s Report to the NAM Membership
Victor J. Dzau, M.D., President, National Academy of Medicine (NAM)

8:40 a.m.-9:05 a.m.       Presentation of Member and Staff Awards
Jane E. Henney, M.D., Home Secretary, National Academy of Medicine
J. Michael McGinnis, M.D., The Leonard D. Schaeffer Executive Officer, National Academy of Medicine

Reversing The Dramatic, 30-Year Rise In Obesity And Type 2 Diabetes

9:05 a.m.-9:10 a.m.       Welcome and Introduction by the Program Chair
Nancy Adler, Ph.D., Professor of Medical Psychology, Departments of Psychiatry and Pediatrics; and Director, Center for Health and Community, University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine

   Morning Keynote Addresses | The Epidemic of Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes

9:10 a.m.-9:35 a.m.      The Global Perspective
Dr. Margaret Chan,
Director-General, World Health Organization

9:35 a.m.-10:00 a.m.   U.S. Patterns and Disparities
William H. Dietz, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, Sumner M. Redstone Global Center for Prevention and Wellness, Milken Institute School of Public Health, The George Washington University

10:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m.   Break

10:30 a.m.-11:45 a.m.   The Key Drivers of Obesity, the Onset of Type 2 Diabetes, and Promising New Directions to Reduce Risk
Griffin P. Rodgers, M.D., M.A.C.P., Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health
Jose C. Florez, M.D., Ph.D.,
 Chief, Diabetes Unit and Member, Center for Human Genetics Research, Massachusetts General Hospital; Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School; and Institute Member, Broad Institute
C. Ronald Kahn, M.D., Chief Academic Officer, Joslin Diabetes Center; and Mary K. Iacocca Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Ashley Gearhardt, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Michigan
Kent Thornburg, Ph.D., M. Lowell Edwards Chair; Director, Center for Developmental Health, Knight Cardiovascular Institute; and Director, Bob and Charlee Moore Institute for Nutrition and Wellness, Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine

11:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m.   Introductions and Announcements
Victor J. Dzau, M.D.
• Class of 2015 NAM Members
• 2016-2017 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows
•  2016-2017 FDA Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows
•  2016-2018 NAM Anniversary Fellows

Presentation of the Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health
J. Michael McGinnis, M.D.

Presentation of The Gustav O. Lienhard Award
J. Michael McGinnis, M.D.

12:15 p.m.-1:45 p.m.    Lunch

1:45 p.m.-2:55 p.m.      Promising New Approaches to Clinical Interventions Aimed at Reducing Obesity and Preventing Progression and Complications of Diabetes
 Samuel Klein, M.D., William H. Danforth Professor of Medicine and Nutritional Science; and Director, Center for Human Nutrition, Washington University School of Medicine
Rena Wing, Ph.D.,
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Brown Medical School; and Director, Weight Control & Diabetes Research Center, The Miriam Hospital
John Buse, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Medicine; Chief, Division of Endocrinology; and  Executive Associate Dean for Clinical Research, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill, NC
Rachel Batterham, MBBS, Ph.D., FRCP, Professor of Obesity, Diabetes and Endocrinology, University College London (UCL); and Head, Obesity & Bariatric Services, UCL Hospitals

2:55 p.m.-4:10 p.m.      Evidence of Preventing Obesity and Diabetes at the Population Level and Promising New Directions
Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, M.D., M.B.A., President and CEO, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Deborah A. Cohen, M.D., M.P.H.,
 Senior Natural Scientist, RAND Corporation
Shiriki Kumanyika, Ph.D., M.P.H., Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine; and Research Professor, Department of Community Health & Prevention, Dornsife School of Public Health, Drexel University
Steven Gortmaker, Ph.D., Professor, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T.H. Chan School Of Public Health
Kelly Brownell, Ph.D., Dean and Professor of Public Policy, Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University

4:15 p.m.-5:25 p.m.     The President’s Forum: Vital Directions for Health and Health Care
   Victor J. Dzau, M.D., President, National Academy of Medicine
                            Mark B. McClellan, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Duke-Robert J. Margolis, MD, Center for Health Policy and Robert J. Margolis MD Professor of Business, Medicine and Health Policy, Duke University
Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institutes of Health
The Honorable Thomas A. Daschle, The Daschle Group, Baker Donelson
Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, M.D., M.B.A., President and CEO, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

5:25 p.m.-5:30 p.m.       Closing Remarks

5:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m.      Adjourn and Reception

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates