National Academy of Medicine

Cecil Award

cecilEach year, the NAM honors a current or former staff member with a Cecil Award. The Cecil Awards—which consist of a medal and $5,000—recognize outstanding, sustained contributions of staff members to program or membership activities. The “Cecils” are the highest distinction for a staff member.

All current and former staff members with more than three years of service are eligible for these distinguished staff awards, with the exception of former staff who are now members of the NAM, NAS, or NAE.

The 2016 Cecil Award was presented during the NAM’s Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, on October 17, 2016.

2016 Recipient 

Judith Shamir
Director of Council and Membership Services

  • Past Recipients

    Research Cecil: Bridget Kelly
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil: Yumi Phillips
    Wildcard Cecil: Alina Baciu

    Research Cecil:
    Mary Burr Paxton
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil: Thelma Cox
    Wildcard Cecil: Guru Madhavan

    Research Cecil: Abigail Mitchell
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil: Pamella Atayi
    Wildcard Cecil: Katharine Bothner

    Research Cecil:
    Bruce Altevogt
    Research Cecil: Lynn Parker
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil: Judith Shamir

    Research Cecil:
    Roberta Wedge
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil: Anton Bandy
    Wildcard Cecil: Linda Meyers

    Research Cecil:
    Rosemary Anne Chalk
    Research Cecil: Rose Marie Martinez
    Sandra H. Matthews Cecil: Geraldine Kennedo

    Administrative Cecil: Gary Walker
    Wildcard Cecil: Andrea Schultz
    Wildcard Cecil: Janice Mehler

    Research Cecil: Ann Yaktine
    Research Cecil: David Butler
    Wildcard Cecil: Christine Stencel

    Research Cecil: Sharyl Nass
    Administrative Cecil: Danitza Valdivia
    Wildcard Cecil: Carolyn Fulco

    Research Cecil: Lyla Hernandez
    Program/Management Cecil: Donna Duncan
    Wildcard Cecil: Jim Banihashemi

    Research Cecil: Lois Joellenbeck
    Program/Management Cecil: Roger Herdman
    Wildcard Cecil: Cathy Liverman

    Research Cecil: Marilyn Field
    Administrative Cecil: Linda Kilroy
    Wildcard Cecil: Andy Pope

    Research Cecil: Brian Smedley
    Administrative Cecil: Janet Stoll
    Wildcard Cecil: Karl Yordy

    Research Cecil: Kathleen Stratton
    Administrative Cecil: Sandra Matthews
    Wildcard Cecil: Janet Corrigan

    Research Cecil: Gooloo Wunderlich
    Administrative Cecil: Sue Barron
    Wildcard Cecil: Clyde Behney

    Research Cecil: Sarah Brown
    Administrative Cecil: Jana Surdi
    Wildcard Cecil: Joe Cassells