National Academy of Medicine


For more information, contact Dana Korsen | | 202-334-2843.

Found 93 Results Page 6 of 10

David Cella Receives Lienhard Award From National Academy of Medicine for His Pioneering Efforts to Measure Patient-Reported Outcomes

For his pioneering work to measure and apply patient-reported outcomes in health care, the National Academy of Medicine today awarded the Gustav O. Lienhard Award to David Cella, Ralph Seal Paffenbarger Professor and chair, department of medical social science ...

October 17, 2016

National Academy of Medicine Names Three NAM Fellows for 2016

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has selected three outstanding health professionals for the class of 2016 NAM Fellows.  The fellows were chosen based on their professional qualifications, reputations as scholars, professional accomplishments, and releva ...

October 17, 2016

National Academy of Medicine Elects 80 New Members

The National Academy of Medicine announced today the election of 70 regular members and 10 international members during its annual meeting.  Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes ind ...

October 17, 2016

National Academy of Medicine Honors Members for Outstanding Service

Today at the National Academy of Medicine’s annual meeting, members Lynn R. Goldman, dean and professor of environmental occupation and health at the Milken Institute School of Public Health at the George Washington University; Donna E. Shalala, president of t ...

October 17, 2016

President Obama to Award NAM Member 2015 National Humanities Medal

On Thursday, September 22, 2016, President Obama will award National Academy of Medicine member Abraham Verghese (elected 2011) the National Humanities Medal. Verghese is one of 12 recipients this year. Verghese is a physician, teacher, and author who has been ...

September 15, 2016

Two NAM Members Receive Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award

NAM Members William G. Kaelin (elected 2007) and Gregg L. Semenza (elected 2012) have been announced as recipients of the 2016 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for illuminating how people respond to variations in oxygen-an essential process for survi ...

September 15, 2016

National Academy of Medicine and FDA Select Four Individuals for 2016-2017 Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) along with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Tobacco Products (CTP) have named the 2016-2017 class of FDA Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows.  Four individuals were selected through a highly selective nat ...

July 25, 2016

Announcing NAM President Victor Dzau as NAAAP 100 Award Honoree

The National Association of Asian American Professionals (NAAAP) recently announced NAM President Dr. Victor J. Dzau as the recipient of its NAAAP 100 Award, presented by General Motors. NAAAP’s highest honor is awarded annually to the most influential leaders ...

July 19, 2016

Three National Academy of Medicine Members Awarded 2016 Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

On June 2, 2016, the Norwegian Academy of Sciences announced the 2016 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience. Eve Marder, Michael Merzenich, and Carla Shatz, all NAM Members, were awarded the Kavli Prize in neuroscience for their re ...

June 03, 2016

Announcing the 2016-2017 Class of RWJF Health Policy Fellows

The National Academy of Medicine and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) proudly announce the 2016-2017 class of RWJF Health Policy Fellows. Beginning in September, the six health professionals selected will spend a year in Washington, DC, working on hea ...

May 26, 2016

Page 6 of 10