National Academy of Medicine

David Rall Medal


The David Rall Medal is awarded to a member of the National Academy of Medicine who has demonstrated particularly distinguished leadership as a chair of a study committee or other such activities in a manner that was particularly exemplary, demonstrating a commitment substantially above and beyond the usual expectations of a committee chair.

2018 Recipient

Hedvig Hricak, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Radiology
Carroll and Milton Petrie Chair
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

View the press release >> 

  • Past Recipients

    Richard O. Hynes, Ph.D., FRS
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Daniel K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research
    Koch  Institute for Integrative Cancer Research
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Read an interview with Richard Hynes >>

    Donna E. Shalala, Ph.D.
    The Clinton Foundation

    Read an interview with Donna Shalala >>

    Jonathan Samet
    Distinguished Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair
    Department of Preventive Medicine
    Keck School of Medicine
    University of Southern California (USC)
    Director, USC Institute for Global Health

    Richard B. Johnston, Jr., M.D.
    Associate Dean for Research Development
    Professor of Pediatrics
    University of Colorado School of Medicine

    Ellen Wright Clayton, J.D., M.D.
    Craig Weaver Professor of Pediatrics
    Professor of Law
    Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society
    Vanderbilt University

    Linda Rosenstock, M.D., M.P.H.
    Professor of Medicine, Health Policy & Management
    Professor of Environmental Health Sciences
    Dean Emeritus
    University of California, Los Angeles School of Public Health

    Virginia A. Stallings, M.D.
    Professor of Pediatrics
    Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
    The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
    University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

    Nancy E. Adler, Ph.D.
    Professor of Medical Psychology, Departments of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
    Director, Center for Health and Community
    University of California, San Francisco

    Bernard Guyer, M.D., M.P.H.
    Zanvyl Kreiger Professor of Children’s Health
    Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health
    Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

    Sheila P. Burke
    Faculty Research Fellow, Malcolm Weiner Center for Social Policy
    John F. Kennedy School of Government
    Harvard University

    William C. Richardson, Ph.D.
    President Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University
    W.K.  Kellogg Foundation

    Fitzhugh Mullan, M.D.
    Murdock Head Professor of Medicine and Health Policy
    Department of Health Policy
    The George Washington University

    Torsten N. Wiesel, M.D.
    President Emeritus
    The Rockefeller University

    Marie C. McCormick, M.D., Sc.D.
    Summer and Esther Feldberg Professor of Maternal and Child Health
    Harvard School of Public Health

    Daniel D. Federman, M.D.
    Senior Dean for Alumni Relations and Clinical Teaching
    Harvard Medical School

    Joshua Lederberg, Ph.D.
    Sackler Foundation Scholar
    The Rockefeller University

    Dorothy P. Rice, Sc.D. (Hon)
    Professor Emeritus, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
    Institute for Health & Aging
    University of California, San Francisco

    Stuart Bondurant, M.D.
    Professor of Medicine and Dean Emeritus, School of Medicine
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

For more information, contact Donna Duncan, Membership Officer, at